The Runner’s Voice, Motivation and Training

11 Nov

First off, welcome to The Runner’s Voice. We hope to make this a blog where runners (and even non runners) can come here to learn about running and check out some news. Eventually, gear reviews will show up on the blog and more features!

As a runner, I look for motivation everyday. Sometimes it comes really easy, and sometimes it does not come easy. There are days where I think to myself ‘Man, I can be a really good runner.’ But, there are some days where those thoughts are not there for me. While training for my Cross Country season during the summer, I always start off great. Once I hit mid-July, I always enjoy hanging out with people and sitting on my couch.

There needs to be someway to increase my motivation. I spent a day or so (off and on) trying to think about what I could do to get my energy up and running. That includes getting motivated to go outside and actually run for a long distance which is not easy to do.

  • COMPETITORS- Think about who were greatest competitor in races may be. It could be a runner on another team/town who you want to beat. Competitors can be runners on your own team. You train with theses guys day-in and day-out that you want to show them who’s boss. You can also compete against yourself. One day, your mind process the thought ‘I want to be better’ and another day it could be ‘Running? Nahhhh’. You want to improve and running
  • YOURSELF- You can also compete against yourself. One day, your mind process the thought ‘I want to be better’ and another day it could be ‘Running? Nahhhh’. You want to improve and running almost everyday will help that happen.
  • FAME- Fame can spread from anything to getting your name in the local newspaper or getting your name on ESPN. Maybe you are that person who just wants friends and family to know that they run. The population thinks of runners as people who run day after day. While you could do every other day, you don’t want to run 1 our of 7 days in a week. If you want to be known as a runner, then RUN.

Motivation leads to training. If you are not motivated to run… then good luck trying to train.

There are different ways in which you can train. You could go for short runs and really pick up the pace or you could change that thought and go for a long run, but at an easy pace. High School and College teams will often have their teams do workouts. There are different kinds of workouts including hill running, track sprints, mile repeats and much more.

If you want to improve your speed, include each one!

Leave a Reply

