Interview With U.S. Runner, Tim Nelson

3 Dec

This is our first interview which is pretty sweet. What makes it better is that it happens to be with a pro runner with the name of Tim Nelson. A couple quick facts about Tim Nelson before the interview…

– 2nd place, 5k 2010 USA Outdoor Championships

– 2nd place, 2009 USA Cross Country Championships

– 3rd place, 10k 2009 USA Outdoor Championships

– 1st place, 5k 2007 Big Ten Championships

The Runner’s Voice: How did you start running and when did you figure out that you could run at a competitive level?

Tim Nelson: I started in second grade. The only sport my elementary school offered was cross country so I tried it and found that I was consistently finishing second place behind the same guy. Eventually, with a little training, I began to win all the races I ran. When I was 13 I told my mother that I was going to get a scholarship and run competitively in college and I haven’t looked back since.

TRV: When your running in big races, what thoughts are going through your mind?

TN: I think, focus and rely upon rhythm more than most other elite runners. It’s hard to describe, but I try to get to a place mentally where it seems like my mind and body are working in unison.

TRV: What has been your favorite moment or race as a runner?

TN: Being part of a NCAA winning team in Cross Country back in 2005 was an unforgettable experience, one that cannot be duplicated anywhere else in running. Not even the Olympic Games.

TRV: What does your future hold? What does the future of running as a sport hold?

I suspect I will continue to move more towards the marathon along with a great deal of other elite runners. It seems that the marathon is becoming the most competitive event in running probably because it is the most lucrative. I enjoy the track and am still more comfortable on the track but my coach has been pushing me towards the marathon pretty much since my freshman year in college. It’s only a matter of time before I become more comfortable at the marathon than on the track.


Leave a Reply

